Matthew Wade to lead Australia in T20 series against India

Matthew Wade to lead Australia in T20 series against India

Matthew Wade to lead Australia in T20 series against India

Matthew Scott Wade is set to lead the Australia Cricket Team during the upcoming T20 series against India next month.

Australian selectors have announced that veteran wicketkeeper Matthew Wade will lead the Australian cricket team against the Indian Cricket Team in the T-20 series. Australian cricket players including David Warner, Steve Smith, and Travis Head will participate along with Matthew in the T-20. These are five-match series against India which will start after ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.

Click here to find out the reason why Belgium vs Sweden 2023 Abandoned

Australian cricket team selectors made this decision after several senior players opted to miss the tour. Australian Cricketer Shaun Edward Marsh will return to Australia after a one-day World Cup in India. Afterward, he will prepare for the upcoming test matches at home.

One-day captain Pat Cummins and fast bowlers Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood will also not participate in the T20 series against India. In addition to them, all-rounder Cameron Green is also going to rest and skip the upcoming series.

Australian Spinner Ashton Agar will not be part of the T20 series squad due to injury. Besides key batsmen, Steve Smith and David Warner, Matt Short and Jason Behrendroff will be part of a 15-man squad or five-match T20 series. Among others are Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Inglis, Tanveer Sangha, Glen Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, and Spencer Johnson.

Chief selector George Bailey expressed confidence in the leadership abilities of Matthew Wade. George mentions that Matthew has captained the team before. He is a leader in the group. He said that we look forward to him taking the reigns for this series.

The announcement of George shows the strategy of Australia to balance experienced players with emerging players. It aims at building a strong T20 team for the future.

The upcoming T-20 series will start on November 23, 2023, in Visakhapatnam and will end on December 3, 2023, in Hyderabad India.

Read More:

Share this content:

Post Comment