Chief selector Wahab Riaz announces Pakistan squad

Chief selector Wahab Riaz announces Pakistan squad

Chief selector Wahab Riaz announces Pakistan squad

Chief selector Wahab Riaz announces the eighteen-member Pakistan squad for the tour to Australia test series. The series is comprised of three matches scheduled from December 14, 2023, to January 7, 2024.

This will be his first task of Wahab since taking over the charge as chairman of the national men’s selection committee last week.

Why is Haris Rauf out of the upcoming Australia Test Series?

In his first news conference, Wahab as chief selector stated that pacer Haris Rauf had guaranteed the cricket board that he would play Test cricket for the national team. But he informed the management yesterday that he does not want to be a part of this series.

Wahab told journalists that people should understand what’s going on, so it’s important to let you know about it noting that Rauf was worried about his fitness level if he participated in the tour.

We’ve made every effort to help him. I was prepared to accept it even if he didn’t succeed on this tour. According to our fitness consultant, Rauf won’t face any problems going forward.

He withdrew at the last minute, but we could have handled the problems. The chief selector stated I think Pakistan will suffer from this.

Chief selector Wahab Riaz announces Pakistan squad

Maiden calls

Saim Ayub, a left-handed opening batsman, has qualified for his maiden Test squad call-up following an outstanding performance in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023–24.

Khurram Shahzad, a right-arm fast bowler, has also received his maiden Test call-up following a strong domestic season thus far.

Who is in the 18-member Pakistani Squad?

Wahab has chosen an 18-member squad comprised of Babar Azam, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam ul Haq, Khurram Shehzad, Mir Hamza, and Muhammad Rizwan. As well as Muhammad Wasim, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, and Shaheen Afridi.

Wahab’s task is the same just like Shan Masood’s whom PCB has appointed as captain for the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25. He became captain after Babar Azam resigned following a disastrous World Cup performance.

Regarding the team chosen for the Australia tour, chief selector Wahab Riaz stated the squad has been selected keeping in mind the challenging Australian conditions.

Furthermore, he said we have added extra pace bowling resources to the team. While keeping an eye on the wickets to allow the management to be creative with the team combinations in all three Test matches.

Read More:

Share this content:

Post Comment