LHC dismissed PTI petitions challenging 2024 election results

LHC dismissed PTI petitions

LHC dismissed PTI petitions challenging 2024 election results

The Lahore High Court (LHC) has dismissed a series of petitions by PTI candidates who challenged the 2024 election results. LHC considered the petitions non-maintainable. These petitions challenged the victories of Nawaz Sharif, Hamza Shehbaz Sharif, and others.

The petitioners asked the court to direct the necessary authorities to ensure the consolidation of election results in their presence. During the proceedings, Justice Ali Baqar Najafi stated that he had previously decided on similar petitions. However, the recent pleas could not be obtained through writ petitions.

LHC Justice Ali suggested that the petitioners approach the Election Commission of Pakistan and dismissed the petitions of PTI candidates. Justice Ali presided over serval petitions emphasizing that the court cannot interfere in election-related affairs, including the consolidation process.

However, he stressed if ECP doesn’t address the concerns of petitioners, then petitioners may seek justice in court. One of the petitioners, Ishtiaq Ahmed Samsialvi, alleged that the returning officer (RO) removed him from office on behalf of Dr. Yasmin Rashid. Dr. Yasmin was running for NA-130 against Nawaz Sharif.

Ishtiaq is looking at the electoral process as Dr. Yasmin is in jail. However, he claimed RO did not allow him to watch the election result consolidation process. There are also allegations in the petition that the RO officer asked him and others to leave office when PTI-backed Dr. Yasmin Rashid won the election.

Click here to analyze a comparative economic performance of PTI vs PMLN 2013-2022

The next day, ECP displayed Form 47 and declared Nawaz Sharif a victorious candidate. In this regard, Ishtiaq sought that the court throw side Form 47 and direct the RO to complete the consolidation process in his presence.

Another petitioner, Muhammad Khan Madni, claimed he won the provincial assembly seat based on Form 45 for PP-147. Nonetheless, ECP declared PMLN candidate Hamza Shehbaz the winner and denied him the process of result consolidation.

However, Justice Ali dismissed writ petitions as non-maintainable in previous hearings on similar pleas on Feb 12, 2024. The PTI-backed independent candidates filed these petitions challenging the victory of Maryam Nawaz Sharif. As well as IPP candidates Aleem Khan, Aun Chaudhary, and others.

Read More:

Share this content:

Post Comment