PCB signed hosting rights deal with ICC for Champions Trophy 2025

PCB signed hosting rights deal with ICC

PCB signed hosting rights deal with ICC for Champions Trophy 2025

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) signed a hosting rights deal with the International Cricket Council (ICC) for the Champions Trophy 2025. PCB Chairman Zaka Ashraf signed the hosting deal at the ICC headquarters yesterday in Dubai.

PCB said in a news release that Jonathan Hall and Zaka Ashraf signed this deal to secure the hosting rights to Pakistan. Jonathan Hall is the General Counsel of ICC.

This deal ensures the continued hosting of Pakistan for the Champions Trophy 2025. There were doubts over whether Pakistan would continue to host the Champions Trophy after India forced the PCB to host the majority of the Asia Cup matches in Sri Lanka in September.

The PCB has already informed the government of its intention to offer foolproof security to visiting International teams. Chairman PCB met Caretaker PM Anwar ul Haq Kakar to ensure the cooperation of security agencies in the successful hosting of the Champions Trophy.

PCB Chairman Zaka Ashraf met Caretaker PM Kakar to ensure visiting international teams’ security

Click here to find out why PCB Chairman suggested Jay Shah to shift Asia Cup to Pakistan

What is the hosting rights deal between PCB and ICC?

There are certain terms and conditions of the hosting rights deal that the PCB signed with ICC. If there is a security danger then the ICC is contractually obligated to verify it with international security organizations. And then request reports from the PCB.

However, there is no mention in the deal of India’s confirmation of participation in the hosting event in Pakistan. BCCI stated that it had not gotten consent from the government to play in Pakistan for the Asia Cup. BCCI refers to The Board of Cricket Control in India.

Because of the influence of BCCI over the Asian Cricket Council. Pakistan only hosted four matches of the tournament before the action shifted to Sri Lanka.

This event of Champions Trophy has returned to Pakistan after an eight-year absence since its last appearance in 2017. Some Test-playing nations like Sri Lanka and the West Indies did not qualify for this global competition. Sri Lanka failed to win a top-eight spot in the ICC World Cup 2023 points table.

The 2025 ICC Champions Trophy will feature eight countries competing in One Day International (ODI) format. The qualification process involved the top seven teams from the ICC ODI World Cup group stage with host nation Pakistan.

Read More:

Share this content:

Post Comment