Pakistani fans boycott PSL 9 over partnership with KFC

Pakistani fans boycott PSL 9

Pakistani fans boycott PSL 9 over partnership with KFC

The Pakistan Super League (PSL 9) 2024 faces a boycott from Pakistani fans due to its partnership with the American food chain KFC. The latest season of PSL began today with the opening match between Lahore Qalandars and Islamabad United.

However, Pakistani fans are calling everyone to boycott the PSL 9 due to its affiliation with KFC. It came when the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) declared the iconic food chain from the United States of America as its official snack partner.

Pakistani fans boycott PSL 9

Pakistani fans do not want any American companies to participate in the PSL 9 tournament due to the unconditional support of the United States for Israel in its ongoing onslaught on Palestinians.

Israel has been repeatedly bombing in retaliation on civilians in Palestine for the provoked attack of Hamas. The situation has deteriorated, with children and women losing their lives. According to several media reports, about 28,585 Palestinians have died since Oct 7, 2023.

One netizen wrote while Gaddafi Stadium is in its full glory. The news that KFC is sponsoring the PSL hits me like a truck. He is not paying attention to any games. People who run PSL are goons.

Another netizen wrote there were over 13000 deaths of children. The number is still going up. One child is being killed every ten minutes. But the higher-ups are still in favor of Israeli goods. You all should feel ashamed.

An affiliated member with the Pakistan Political party JUI wrote If there were stones for the immoral and dishonest, most of the Pakistani officials would have been stoned at that time.

Click here to read the updates on People boycotting McDonald’s over the Israel-Palestine conflict

PSL is the second most well-known T20 league after the Indian Premier League (IPL) in the world. Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) earns millions from the competition, which features elite international players playing for six franchises.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) launched the Pakistan Super League (PSL) in 2015 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). Each team plays the group stage matches in a double round-robin format, with the top four franchises qualifying for the matches.

The league has had eight seasons so far. Islamabad United and Lahore Qalandars are the only teams to win the PSL title twice. The current champions, Lahore Qalandars, is the only franchise that will defend their title after winning the PSL 2023. Peshawar Zalmi, Multan Sultans, Quetta Gladiators, and Karachi Kings won the PSL title once.

Read More:

Share this content:

Post Comment