PML-N & MQM-P to contest general elections together

PML-N & MQM-P to contest general elections together

PML-N & MQM-P to contest general elections together

The two big political rivals Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) and Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P) announced today to contest general elections together in an unexpected turn of events.

This development comes only days after the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) and President Arif Alvi agreed to hold elections on Feb 8, 2024. The announcement of the election date has sparked excitement among key political parties.

What is the motive behind PML-N and MQM-P alliance?

An MQM team led by Dr. Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, Farooq Sattar, and Mustafa Kamal met PML-N leader Nawaz Sharif. Shehbaz Sharif was also present along with Nawaz at the Central Secretariat of PML-N in Lahore. Both parties released a joint statement to national media.

Both parties agreed to adopt a joint strategy to bring the people of Pakistan out of the current problems. And to put Pakistan back on the path of development. The two parties also decided to set up a six-member committee.

The committee will prepare a comprehensive charter to address the problems of Sindh province, especially its urban areas. It will present the final proposals for cooperation between the two parties to the leadership within ten days.

PML-N & MQM-P to contest general elections together

The MQM leader Dr. Farooq Sattar also proposed a “charter for national interest”. Dr.Farooq claimed his party and PML-N would prepare this charter soon. He went on to say that the charter would be shared with other political parties as well. He added “Together, this is the only way to regain the trust of the public.”

The rivalry between the Nawaz-led party and PPP (Pakistan Peoples Party) has grown in the run-up to the elections. PPP alleged that PMLN has a hidden alliance with the present caretaker administration.

The PML-N, PPP, and MQM-P were coalition partners in the previous government. They joined forces to take over chairman PTI Imran Khan.

Read More:

Share this content:

Post Comment