Pakistan won second time in World Championship of Legends 2024

Pakistan won second time in World Championship

Pakistan won second time in World Championship of Legends 2024

Pakistan won for the second time by defeating West Indies in the World Championship of Legends 2024 at Edgbaston Cricket Ground, Birmingham. The Pakistan team set a target of 195 runs, but West Indies could not chase this target.

Captain Younis Khan had chosen to bat first. However, Kamran Akmal could not make an impact. He only made 5 runs off 7 balls. Sharjeel Khan made a difference with his incredible performance of scoring thirty-five runs at fifteen balls.

The scores by Sharjeel put the Pakistani team on track to win the innings. Meanwhile, Shoaib Malik remained the top-scorer for Pakistan, scoring 54 runs at 41 balls with the help of five fours and a six.

Participating team members of Pakistan and West Indies

Shoaib Maqsood also performed well by making 22 runs off 12 balls. Afterward, Pakistan reached the target of 194 runs due to strikes of Shahid Afridi and Aamer Yamin at the end. Shahid made 10 runs, while Aamer scored 11 runs.

On the other hand, Indie bowlers Ashley Nurse and Fidel Edwards performed well during the batting innings of Pakistan. Ashely took 3 wickets while giving only 20 runs. However, Fidel took 2 wickets for 46 runs.

Click here to read the updates on Pakistan beating Turkmenistan to win the Central Asian Volleyball League title

West Indies ended the first innings at eight wickets and started the second innings. Famous cricket Indie star Chris Gayle and other players could only make 165 runs for 9 wickets.

Only two batters from West Indies made a significant contribution to the run chase. Dwayne Smith came as an opener and scored 65 runs off 46 balls. Jonathan Carter made 34 off 25 balls.

Meanwhile, Pakistani bowlers put pressure on West Indies by consistently getting wickets. Sohail Tanvir took 4 wickets while giving 14 runs and Shahid Afrdid took 3 wickets for 41 runs.

However, Wahab Riaz took 2 wickets for 18 runs. Hence, Pakistan won the second time in the World Championship, beating West Indies by 29 runs.

Read More:

Share this content:

Post Comment