Government blocked CNICs of Murad Saeed and other PTI leaders

Government blocked CNICs of Murad Saeed

Government blocked CNICs of Murad Saeed and other PTI leaders

The Government of Pakistan has blocked the CNICs (Computerized National Identity Card) of Murad Saeed and the other 17 PTI leaders. This decision of the government has come in the wake of the May 9 riots.

The Interior Ministry asked the NADRA to block the CNICs of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leaders at the suggestion of the Punjab Police. Those PTI leaders were considered to be escapers in the May 9 riots cases.

The government has also blocked the CNICs of Hamad Azhar and Azam Swati along with Murad Saeed. As well as Karam Khokhar, Ali Amin Gandapur, Wasiq Qayyum Abbasi, and Musarrat Cheema. Others include Jamshed Cheema, Zubair Niazi, Malik Nadeem Abbas, Aslam Iqbal, and Ghulam Muhiuddin.

CNIC Cards of PTI Leaders Blocked

Click here to find out why Pakistan Special Court charged Imran Khan in cipher case

May 9 riots

According to police, PTI escaped leaders’ CNICs would be blocked till they appear before ATC courts in May 9 cases. Several Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf leaders are being investigated in connection with the May 9 disturbances that erupted across Pakistan. The riots happened following the arrest of the PTI chairman in the Al-Qadir Trust case.

After the former prime minister Imran Khan was arrested on May 9, 2023, violent clashes erupted across Pakistan. Protests were held in both small and big cities as party workers were angry following the arrest of their chairman.

Widespread protests took place in Balochistan, Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and Islamabad. PDM government requested the armed forces to maintain peace and order. During a demonstration by PTI workers, army assets and the Corps Commander’s home in Lahore were attacked.

Afterward, the government filed cases against these PTI leaders whose CNICs have been blocked due to their alleged involvement in the May 9 riots. However, these PTI leaders have hidden and escaped the investigation to avoid their arrests.

The government issued non-bailable arrest warrants for several leaders following the May 9 riots. It includes Andleeb Abbas, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Fawad Chaudhary, etc. Andleeb and Fawad had left the PTI party.

Read More:

Share this content:

Post Comment